Oliver Briggs

3D Printing and Fusion 360 Enthusiast
I am a Fusion 360 Instructor in the UK. I am also the community manager of the Autodesk Ambassador Hub, Autodesk's Education Community

Propeller Shaft Key Spooning

Incredibly specific question but I have been trying to help a client model this part and so far have been failing!

It is effectively a complex fillet at the end of a key slot on a propeller shaft.
The spoon shape is required to be present to relieve pressure on the key and so I am trying to model it so it can be machined instead of being done by hand as it is at the moment.

The problem is that I have been struggling to get the shape. It has to be a smooth fillet to satisfy the requirements.

I have tried sweeping it with a guide rail, lofting it with several planes, using form and surfacing to manually model the shape! I even had a quick go at horizon modelling but the closest I have got is with the sweep. Unfortunately it still isn’t good enough 😩

It seems like such a basic shape so I wanted to check that I wasn’t missing something really obvious or if anyone had any ideas about how they would model it!

I have attached some images although they aren’t very clear. It is the spoon shaped fillet at the end of the slot!

Thanks! 

Solidworks to Fusion transition tips!

Hi everyone! 
I am teaching a Fusion 360 class on Thursday to a company who want to transition over to Fusion. 
Currently the people I am teaching use Solidworks, Catia and FreeCAD. 

I haven’t used Catia or FreeCAD before and it’s been a while since I touched solidworks so I was wondering what anyone who has used any of them thought were the key differences with Fusion. 

What did you find difficult to get a hang of when you transitioned to Fusion or what would be the best advice that I could give the people I am training? 

All help is much appreciated! 

Alexa Echo Dot Lamp